What is retrogaming?

Retro is synonymous with seniority, we mark a past era from the 1930s to the 2000s. When we talk about retrogaming, many people become nostalgic to remember good times spent alone or with friends. Video games have shaped our childhood and marked our generation. This article aims to tell you about the origins of gaming until today.

Content table

  1. The history of retrogaming
  2. Retrogaming news
  3. Conclusion

1. The history of retrogaming

Arcade terminals

For many of us, retrogaming started in an arcade, a gathering place to have fun alone or with friends. The arcade cabinets gave us the opportunity to have fun on different types of video games. For the pleasure of playing, the competition or even developing our skills, everyone had their own objectives.

To begin with, the first marketed arcade machine was created by Nolan Bushnell and Ted Dabney (the founders ofAtari) with the game computer games in 1971. Inspired by Spacewar!, you pilot a rocket in space and you have to fight the flying saucers by shooting at them. But it was above all in 1972 that there was a real revolution in arcade machines with pong. He was the pioneer of the arcade game industry. 

Then, in 1978, the golden age of arcade games started with space invaders which brought the video game industry a huge breakthrough.

He gave an improvement of the arcade system which included new processors and new more powerful chips thus offering more advanced graphics and gameplay. Thanks to this progress, the first arcades were born. They offered the possibility of playing exclusive games such as Pac man, Donkey Kong, King and Balloon, Asteroid, Breakout etc

This era saw a real transformation, they quickly settled in public places such as bars, supermarkets, cinemas, restaurants, gas stations, etc. From 1990, the number of terminals and arcades began to decline. However, they still exist today but much more at their past level. Indeed, home consoles have gained huge market share to their detriment.

Indeed, when we talk about an arcade terminal, we are referring to retrogaming which brings nostalgia for some people or the discovery of the ancestor of game consoles. Nevertheless, it is still possible to play old video games , the means are:

  • put an emulator on your pc, an SBC like the Raspberry Pi or even your mobile phone, to find all the platforms on the same device
  • buy an old console for the vintage side with the games you want,
  • rent/buy an arcade machine from a professional or even build it yourself.
Bartop 2d 16/9e - Ghouls and Ghosts
Bartop 2d 16/9e – Ghouls and Ghosts

retro consoles

If we talk about the very first arcade terminals, we must also talk about the first home consoles. We are not going to list them all, because there are many, but rather tell you about those that have had a big historical impact.

The Magnavox Odyssey or only theOdyssey was the first home console marketed in 1972 by Magnavox with accessories, 6 pre-installed games and 6 other games sold separately. pong was one of the main selling points of the Odyssey and single-handedly drove sales.

In the accessories, there were overlays: graphic backgrounds that stuck on his TV screen in order to obtain a decor according to the game; chips: for money games like roulette, we mixed between television and board games; cards: the cards gave us a task to do on certain games and we had to answer it using our controller, etc.

The Magnavox Odyssey and its accessories, Released in 1972. Source: Culture games
The Magnavox Odyssey and its accessories, Released in 1972. Source: Culture games

Subsequently, technology has only improved, giving us the Fairchild Channel F in 1976. It was the first video game console based on an interchangeable cartridge system and the first to have a microprocessor. Following this, in 1977, Atari produced theATARI 2600 in order to compete with Channel F. It had a great success thanks to the principle of interchangeable cartridges and it allowed the video game industry to have an important place on the market. The star game of the ATARI 2600 was space invaders. Despite this success, video game crisis in 1983 in the United States declared itself due to a supply far exceeding demand and the inactivity of companies following this crisis. Therefore, the effect was the collapse of several businesses and the massive loss of several video game cartridges.

The Fairchild F, released in 1976
The Fairfield F, released in 1976

After the crisis, two Japanese companies launched their first home consoles. The SG-1000 for Sega and the Family Computer (or Famicom) for Nintendo at the same time in 1983. The Famicom had a great success in the land of the rising sun due to its lower price compared to other consoles and a major technical evolution. In 1985, Europe, the United States and Canada completely redesigned the Famicom with a new design, slightly different features and a new name: Nintendo Entertainment System (or NES). India and South Korea decided to keep the Famicom model but just change the name which was Tata Famicom for India and Hyundai Comboy for South Korea. The NES has been able to differentiate itself with its gigantic catalog of video games. Many cult games have appeared.

For example Super Mario Bros., The Legend of Zelda, donkey kong, Castlevania, Metroid, etc

The Nintendo Entertainment System (NES), released in 1983
The Nintendo Entertainment System (NES), released in 1983

In order to be able to compete with the NES, the company NEC launched the PC Engine in 1987 and Sega launched its mega drive in 1988. The PC-Engine is the first console in history to have had a CD-ROM drive to read video games. Later, in order to be able to compete with the NES, the company NEC launched the PC Engine in 1987 and Sega launched its Mega Drive in 1988. The PC-Engine is the first console in history to have had a CD-ROM drive to read video games. Later, several versions of it were released to take several different game formats: CD-ROM, HuCard, Great CD-ROM and Arcade CD-ROM. It also had an 8-bit central processor and a 16-bit graphics processor, which was a record at the time. Among the games, we can mention the notable ones bomber man, Dungeon Explorer, PCKid, etc

PC-Engine, released in 1987
The PC-Engine, released in 1987

In 1990, the Super Nintendo (aka SNES) made its appearance. Its first objective was to compete with Sega with its mega drive and NEC with the PC Engine. This console offered better sound and graphics performance than the previous 8-bit version by reaching 16-bit. It also offered a huge amount of games, we can mention Super Mario World, The Legend of Zelda: Link to the Past, donkey kong country, star wing, Chrono Trigger and so many others. With its new console, Nintendo continued to remain the leader in the gaming market. The support of its developers has enabled Nintendo to maintain this position. The acquisition of many games such as the purchase of game rights Tetris then allowed Nintendo to design the first portable console, the gameboy.

The Super Nintendo (SNES), released in 1990
The Super Nintendo (SNES), released in 1990

As for Sega, its experience in arcades allowed it to compete with its rivals with its Mega Drive. The many ports of arcade games and the arrival of an emblematic character of the game, Sonic: The Hedgehog, gave him enormous success.

The Mega Drive, released in 1988
The Mega Drive, released in 1988

In summary, we have seen the first landmark consoles in the history of video games. Subsequently, other new generation consoles appeared with the Playstation for Sony and the Xbox for Microsoft.

2. Retrogaming news

Why play retro games?

Why play retro games when modern games bring new graphics and features? For some people, retro games are just old pixelated games, totally outdated and uninteresting, but for others they are the source of an all-consuming passion: retrogaming!

Take the case of 2 games of the same title The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (BotW) and The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (OoT). In 1998, OoT charmed an entire generation. Its history, its dungeons, its music and its bosses were particularly appreciated. A well-designed open world allowing the player to discover Hyrule and an interest in each boss linked to certain characters in the story. BotW, released in 2017, has been able to modernize by offering a new dimension of the open world. This time, the player has the choice of exploring, doing side quests or continuing the story of the game whenever he wants. A totally redone graphic design giving us this feeling of freedom.

In summary in Oot, you will enjoy a fantastic story with unique and striking bosses without forgetting the iconic music of this opus. While in BotW, the graphics will give you another dimension in the Zelda universe by giving you total freedom.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, released in 2017 - Source: jv.jeuxonline.info
The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, released in 2017 – Source: jv.jeuxonline.info

In conclusion, modern games and their technological advancements allow stunning graphics, smooth gameplay, game expansion to extend its lifespan, and online gaming to attract modern gamers. For retro games, we focus more on quality gameplay. Often on a nostalgia recalling our childhood and on a very consequent lifespan. 

Each generation brings a totally different experience to video games. Former player as new player, everyone will find his account. If you are not afraid of graphics and a certain difficulty, then I invite you to try the retro games.

The modernization of retro games

Some games marked the childhood of many people. Just remembering times spent on Metroid, GTA, Tomb Raider, Final Fantasy, The Legend of Zelda can make us nostalgic. From the PS4 and Xbox One, old games are brought back to life by refurbishing them in several ways: 

The remastering : This is one of the most widely used practices today. It aims to optimize an already existing game using current technology. The graphics are changed by putting more details by changing the contrast, brightness and new textures making the game more enjoyable to watch. The gameplay is not altered, but it rectifies several bugs. The choice of remastering allows for excellent backwards compatibility. It cannot be done because of a technology that is too obsolete for the new consoles. In the remastering, we also bring some DLC to increase the life expectancy of the game, new content for other or several games of the same title in a compilation of several opuses.

For example, there is Crash Bandicoot, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D, Skyrim, etc

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, released in 1998
The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, released in 1998. Source: Jeuxvideo.com
  • The remake : The remake is a new version of an already existing work. It allows the game to be modern by adapting it with new technologies. The story can keep the same base or be modified with a new gameplay system, settings and completely redesigned characters. It's not a simple smoothing or improvement of textures, it's a total redesign of the game with new elements. The remake allows old players to play the same title, but in a completely different way. Even if the players have not experienced the original game, it allows them to discover an old game but with contemporary graphics. We can take as an example final fantasy 7 remake, Resident Evil 2, Metroid: Zero Mission, etc
Final Fantasy VII, released in 1997 / Final Fantasy VII remake, released in 2020
Final Fantasy VII, released in 1997 / Final Fantasy VII remake, released in 2020. Source: Actugaming.com
  • Carrying : Porting aims to make old games compatible with new generations of consoles. It thus allows players to be able to play on another platform without the game being modified. This allows developers to offer their games at discounted prices while saving for future projects on other video games. It's also useful for some online games to make it cross-play. There are Among Us, Pokemon Unite, Final Fantasy XIV, etc
Among Us, released in 2018
Among Us, released in 2018
  • The reboot : The reboot is a reinterpretation of a game. It is a new version of an already existing game by completely modifying its history. Similar to the remake, it nevertheless allows you to make an alternative of the same game by taking everything from the beginning. Reboots are used a lot in cinema. They give the opportunity to obtain a very different approach from the original version (Spider Man for example). For games, there are DmC: Devil May Cry, Castlevania: Lord of Shadows, Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, etc
Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, released in 2003
Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, released in 2003. Source: Jeuxvideo.com

How to get started?

For starters, it all depends on individual preferences. Some gamers prefer to play on older consoles and some prefer to play on a next gen console.

The collectors are more attached to vintage. They tend to have the vintage consoles and old cartridges. In this case, you will also need a CRT television or a newer television that includes a VGA port. If you are interested, there is an article on “how to play retro games?”, this will give you the information you need to get started.

As to to gamers, they will prefer the practical side. They are usually used to new consoles and will prefer to just download the games. If you do not have a console, the solutions for you will be:

  • Emulate on computer or other card
  • Buy an arcade terminal,
  • Buy a mini edition of the remade console so you can play a few games on your TV.

3. Conclusion

To conclude, arcade terminals are less and less present, because of the success of home consoles. However, they are not completely forgotten.

Indeed, today, arcade terminals have also evolved over time. They thus give us the possibility of being able to play all the retro games on a single machine. They reconcile vintage and modern, and are a good way to make us relive our childhood or past era. Next gen consoles also give us the opportunity to be able to play the original games by downloading or buying them. The old games are not totally forgotten. Remakes and reboots bring old games back to life either by keeping their story or by revisiting it. In short, everyone will find their account and will be able to appreciate the charm of retro games in their own way.

Flex Arcade - Recalbox
Flex Arcade – Recalbox

Flex Arcade

Flex Arcade

Flex Arcade

About

At FLEX we love video games, it is this passion that rocked our childhood (and perhaps yours!?) that drives us on this adventure, to design and manufacture superb machines to replay the best titles of the young history of video games. We produce a “ready to play” range but also make special orders for unique and characterful arcade terminals using for example the base of a 300L wine barrel or a French army ammunition box ! We are at your disposal for your projects, share your wildest dreams, we love to make them come true.

The latest articles

Follow us on Facebook

Mount your terminal yourself (tutorial)

Advertising

0
Votre Panier est vide

Il semble que vous n'avez pas encore ajouté de produits dans votre Panier

Voir la Boutique
Powered by Caddy
en_GB

Qu’est-ce que le retrogaming?

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
neon video games. Source : freepik.com

Le rétro est synonyme d’ancienneté, on marque une époque passée des années 30 jusqu’aux années 2000. Quand on parle de retrogaming, bon nombre de personnes deviennent nostalgiques à se remémorer des bons moments passés seul ou entre amis. Les jeux vidéo ont su façonner notre enfance et marquer notre génération. Cet article a pour but de vous parler des origines du gaming jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Sommaire

  1. L’histoire du retrogaming
  2. L’actualité du rétrogaming
  3. Conclusion

1. L’histoire du rétrogaming

Les bornes d’arcade

Pour beaucoup d’entre nous, le rétrogaming a commencé dans une salle d’arcade, lieu de rassemblement pour se divertir seul ou entre amis. Les bornes d’arcade nous ont donné l’opportunité de pouvoir nous amuser sur différents types de jeux vidéo. Pour le plaisir de jouer, la compétition ou encore développer nos skills, chacun avait ses propres objectifs.

Pour commencer, la première borne d’arcade commercialisée a été créée par Nolan Bushnell et Ted Dabney (les fondateurs d’Atari) avec le jeu Computer Game en 1971. Inspiré de Spacewar!, vous pilotez une fusée dans l’espace et vous devez combattre les soucoupes volantes en leur tirant dessus. Mais c’est surtout en 1972 qu’il y a eu une vraie révolution des bornes d’arcade avec Pong. Il fut le pionnier de l’industrie des jeux d’arcades. 

Ensuite, en 1978, l’âge d’or des jeux d’arcade commença avec Space Invaders qui apporta à l’industrie du jeu vidéo une énorme avancée.

Il donna une amélioration du système d’arcade qui comprenait de nouveaux processeurs et de nouvelles puces plus puissantes offrant ainsi des graphismes et des gameplay plus évolués. Grâce à cette avancée, les premières salles d’arcades ont vu le jour. Elles offraient la possibilité de jouer à des jeux exclusifs comme Pac-Man, Donkey Kong, King and Balloon, Asteroid, Breakout etc.

Cette époque a connu une véritable transformation, elles se sont rapidement installées dans des lieux publics comme les bars, les supermarchés, les cinémas, les restaurants, les stations essences, etc. A partir de 1990, le nombre de bornes et salles d’arcade a commencé à décliner. Cependant, elles existent toujours aujourd’hui mais beaucoup plus à leur niveau passé. Effectivement, les consoles de salon ont gagné d’énormes part de marché à leur détriment.

En effet, quand on parle d’une borne d’arcade, on fait référence au rétrogaming qui apporte une nostalgie pour certaines personnes ou la découverte de l’ancêtre des consoles de jeu. Néanmoins, il est toujours possible de jouer aux anciens jeux vidéo, les moyens sont :

  • mettre un émulateur sur son pc, un SBC comme le Raspberry Pi ou même son téléphone portable, pour retrouver toutes les plateformes sur un même appareil
  • acheter une ancienne console pour le côté vintage avec les jeux que vous désirez,
  • louer/acheter une borne d’arcade chez un professionnel ou encore la construire soi-même.
Bartop 2j 16/9e - Ghouls and Ghosts
Bartop 2j 16/9e – Ghouls and Ghosts

Les consoles rétro

Si nous parlons des toutes premières bornes d’arcade, il faut également parler des premières consoles de salon. Nous n’allons pas toutes les énumérer, car il y en a beaucoup, mais plutôt vous parler de celles qui ont eu un gros impact historique.

La Magnavox Odyssey ou seulement l’Odyssey a été la première console de salon commercialisée en 1972 par Magnavox avec des accessoires, 6 jeux pré installés et 6 autres jeux vendus séparément. Pong a été l’un des principaux arguments de vente de l’Odyssey et a à lui seul tracté les ventes.

Dans les accessoires, il y avait des overlay : fonds graphiques qui se collaient sur son écran télé afin d’obtenir un décor en fonction du jeu ; des jetons : pour les jeux d’argent comme la roulette, on mixait entre la télévision et les jeux de sociétés ; des cartes : les cartes nous donnaient une tâche à faire sur certains jeux et on devait répondre à celle-ci en s’aidant de notre manette, etc.

La Magnavox Odyssey et ses accessoires, Sortie en 1972. Source : Culture games
La Magnavox Odyssey et ses accessoires, Sortie en 1972. Source : Culture games

Par la suite, la technologie n’a fait que s’améliorer, nous donnant la Fairchild Channel F en 1976. C’est la première console de jeu vidéo basée sur un système de cartouches interchangeables et la première à avoir un microprocesseur. Suite à cela, en 1977, Atari produit l’ATARI 2600 afin de concurrencer la Channel F. Elle a eu un très grand succès grâce au principe des cartouches interchangeables et elle a permis à l’industrie des jeux vidéo d’avoir une place importante sur le marché. Le jeu star de l’ATARI 2600 a été Space Invaders. Malgré ce succès, la crise des jeux vidéo en 1983 aux Etats-Unis se déclara en raison d’une offre largement supérieure à la demande et à l’inactivité des entreprises suite à cette crise. C’est pourquoi, l’effet a été l’effondrement de plusieurs entreprises et la perte massive de plusieurs cartouches de jeux vidéo.

La Fairchild F, sortie en 1976
La Fairchield F, sortie en 1976

Après la crise, deux entreprises nipponnes lançaient leurs premières consoles de salon. La SG-1000 pour Sega et la Family Computer (ou Famicom) pour Nintendo en même temps en 1983. La Famicom a eu un franc succès au pays du soleil levant par rapport à son prix moins élevé comparé aux autres consoles et à une évolution technique majeure. En 1985, l’Europe, les Etats-Unis et le Canada ont complètement repensé la Famicom avec un nouveau design, des fonctionnalités légèrement différentes et un nouveau nom : Nintendo Entertainment System (ou NES). L’Inde et la Corée du Sud ont décidé de garder le modèle de la Famicom mais de juste changer de nom qui était Tata Famicom pour l’Inde et Hyundai Comboy pour la Corée du Sud. La NES a su se différencier avec son gigantesque catalogue de jeux vidéo.De nombreux jeux cultes ont fait leur apparition.

Par exemple Super Mario Bros, The Legend of Zelda, Donkey Kong, Castlevania, Metroid, etc.

La Nintendo Entertainment System (NES), sortie en 1983
La Nintendo Entertainment System (NES), sortie en 1983

Afin de pouvoir concurrencer la NES, l’entreprise NEC lança la PC-Engine en 1987 et Sega lança sa Mega drive en 1988. La PC-Engine est la première console de l’histoire à avoir eu le lecteur CD-ROM pour lire les jeux vidéo. Plus tard, Afin de pouvoir concurrencer la NES, l’entreprise NEC lança la PC-Engine en 1987 et Sega lança sa Mega Drive en 1988. La PC-Engine est la première console de l’histoire à avoir eu le lecteur CD-ROM pour lire les jeux vidéo. Plus tard, plusieurs versions de celle-ci sortirent pour prendre plusieurs formats de jeux différents : CD-ROM, HuCard, Super CD-ROM et Arcade CD-ROM. Elle possédait également un processeur central 8 bits et un processeur graphique de 16 bits ce qui était à l’époque un record. Parmi les jeux, on peut citer les notables Bomberman, Dungeon Explorer, PC Kid, etc.

PC-Engine, sortie en 1987
La PC-Engine, sortie en 1987

En 1990, la Super Nintendo (alias SNES) a fait son apparition. Son premier objectif était de concurrencer Sega avec sa Mega drive et NEC avec la PC-Engine. Cette console offrait une meilleure performance sonore et graphique que la version précédente 8 bits en atteignant 16 bits. Elle proposait également une énorme quantité de jeux, on peut citer Super Mario World, The Legend of Zelda : Link to the Past, Donkey Kong Country, Starwing, Chrono Trigger et tant d’autres. Avec sa nouvelle console, Nintendo a continué à rester leader sur le marché du jeu. Le soutien de ses développeurs a permis à Nintendo de maintenir cette place. L’acquisition de nombreux jeux comme le rachat des droits du jeu Tetris ont permis ensuite à Nintendo de concevoir la première console portable, la Game Boy.

La Super Nintendo (SNES), sortie en 1990
La Super Nintendo (SNES), sortie en 1990

Quant à Sega, son expérience des salles d’arcade lui a permis de concurrencer ses rivaux avec sa Mega Drive. Les nombreux portages de jeux d’arcade et l’arrivée d’un personnage emblématique du jeu, Sonic : The Hedgehog, lui ont offert un énorme succès.

La Mega Drive, sortie en 1988
La Mega Drive, sortie en 1988

En résumé, nous avons vu les premières consoles marquantes de l’histoire du jeu vidéo. Par la suite d’autres consoles d’une nouvelle génération ont fait leur apparition avec la Playstation pour Sony et la Xbox pour Microsoft.

2. L’actualité du retrogaming

Pourquoi jouer aux jeux rétro ?

Pourquoi jouer aux jeux rétro alors que les jeux modernes apportent de nouveaux graphismes et des fonctionnalités inédites ? Pour certaines personnes, les jeux rétro sont juste des vieux jeux pixelisés, totalement dépassés et sans intérêt, mais pour d’autres ils sont à l’origine d’une passion dévorante : le retrogaming !

Prenons le cas de 2 jeux du même titre The Legend of Zelda : Breath of The Wild (BotW) et The Legend of Zelda : Ocarina of Time (OoT). En 1998, OoT a charmé toute une génération. Son histoire, ses donjons, ses musiques et ses boss ont été particulièrement appréciés. Un open world bien pensé permettant au joueur d’y découvrir Hyrule et un intérêt pour chaque boss en lien avec certains personnages de l’histoire. BotW, sorti en 2017, a su se moderniser en offrant une nouvelle dimension de l’open world. Cette fois-ci, le joueur a le choix de l’exploration, faire des quêtes annexes ou bien poursuivre l’histoire du jeu quand il veut. Un graphisme totalement refait nous donnant cette sensation de liberté.

En résumé dans Oot, vous profiterez d’une histoire fantastique avec des boss uniques et marquants sans oublier les musiques iconiques de cet opus. Tandis que dans BotW, les graphismes vous donneront une autre dimension dans l’univers des Zelda en vous donnant une liberté totale.

The Legend of Zelda : Breath of the Wild, sorti en 2017 - Source : jv.jeuxonline.info
The Legend of Zelda : Breath of the Wild, sorti en 2017 – Source : jv.jeuxonline.info

En conclusion, les jeux modernes et leurs avancées technologiques permettent des graphismes époustouflants, un gameplay fluide, une extension du jeu pour rallonger sa durée de vie et le jeu en ligne pour attirer les joueurs modernes. Pour les jeux rétro, on se focalise davantage sur un gameplay de qualité. Souvent sur une nostalgie rappelant notre enfance et sur une durée de vie bien conséquente. 

Chaque génération apporte une expérience totalement différente sur les jeux vidéo. Ancien joueur comme nouveau joueur, chacun y trouvera son compte. Si vous n’avez pas peur des graphismes et d’une certaine difficulté, alors je vous invite à essayer les jeux rétro.

La modernisation des jeux rétro

Certains jeux ont marqué l’enfance de beaucoup de monde. Le simple fait de se rappeler des moments passés sur Metroid, GTA, Tomb Raider, Final Fantasy, The Legend of Zelda peuvent nous rendre nostalgique. Depuis la PS4 et Xbox One, d’anciens jeux reprennent vie en les remettant à neuf de plusieurs façons : 

La remasterisation : C’est l’une des pratiques les plus utilisées actuellement. Elle a pour but d’optimiser un jeu déjà existant en utilisant une technologie actuelle. Les graphismes sont modifiés en mettant plus de détails par la modification du contraste, de la luminosité et des nouvelles textures rendant le jeu plus agréable à regarder. La jouabilité n’en est pas altérée, mais elle rectifie plusieurs bugs. Le choix de la remasterisation permet une excellente rétrocompatibilité. Elle ne peut pas se faire à cause d’une technologie trop obsolète pour les nouvelles consoles. Dans la remasterisation, on y apporte également certains DLC pour augmenter l’espérance de vie du jeu, des contenus inédits pour d’autres ou plusieurs jeux du même titre dans une compilation de plusieurs opus.

Par exemple, il y a Crash Bandicoot, The Legend of Zelda : Ocarina of Time 3D, Skyrim, etc.

The Legend of Zelda : Ocarina of Time, sorti en 1998
The Legend of Zelda : Ocarina of Time, sorti en 1998. Source : Jeuxvideo.com
  • Le remake : Le remake est une nouvelle version d’une œuvre déjà existante. Il permet au jeu d’être moderne en l’adaptant avec les nouvelles technologies. L’histoire peut garder la même base ou être modifiée avec un nouveau système de gameplay, des décors et des personnages totalement réétudiés. Ce n’est pas un simple lissage ou une amélioration des textures, c’est une reconception totale du jeu avec des éléments inédits. Le remake permet aux anciens joueurs de jouer au même titre, mais d’une façon totalement différente. Même si les joueurs n’ont pas connu le jeu d’origine, il leur permet de découvrir un jeu ancien mais avec des graphismes contemporains. On peut prendre comme exemple Final Fantasy 7 remake, Resident Evil 2, Metroid : zero mission, etc.
Final Fantasy VII, sorti en 1997 / Final Fantasy VII remake, sorti en 2020
Final Fantasy VII, sorti en 1997 / Final Fantasy VII remake, sorti en 2020. Source : Actugaming.com
  • Le portage : Le portage a pour but de rendre d’anciens jeux compatibles avec les nouvelles générations de consoles. Il permet ainsi aux joueurs de pouvoir jouer sur une autre plateforme sans que le jeu soit modifié. Cela permet aux développeurs de proposer leurs jeux à prix réduits tout en économisant pour les futurs projets sur d’autres jeux vidéo. C’est également utile pour certains jeux en ligne permettant de le rendre cross-play. Il y a Among Us, Pokemon Unite, Final Fantasy XIV, etc.
Among Us, sorti en 2018
Among Us, sorti en 2018
  • Le reboot : Le reboot est une réinterprétation d’un jeu. C’est une nouvelle version d’un jeu déjà existant en modifiant totalement son histoire. Similaire au remake, il permet néanmoins de faire une alternative du même jeu en reprenant tout depuis le début. Les reboots sont beaucoup utilisés au cinéma. Ils donnent l’occasion d’obtenir une approche très différente de la version originale (les Spider Man par exemple). Pour les jeux, il y a DmC : Devil May Cry, Castlevania : Lord of Shadow, Prince of Persia : les sables du temps, etc.
Prince of Persia : les sables du temps, sorti en 2003
Prince of Persia : les sables du temps, sorti en 2003. Source : Jeuxvideo.com

Comment s’y mettre ?

Pour commencer, tout dépend des préférences de chacun. Certains joueurs préfèrent jouer sur les anciennes consoles et d’autres préfèrent jouer sur une console next gen.

Les collectionneurs sont plus attachés au vintage. Ils ont tendance à avoir les consoles d’époque et les anciennes cartouches. Dans ce cas, il vous faudra également une télévision cathodique ou une télévision plus récente comprenant un port VGA. Si cela vous intéresse, il y a un article sur “comment jouer à des jeux rétro?”, cela vous donnera les informations nécessaires pour vous y mettre.

Quant aux gamers, ils préféreront le côté pratique. Ils sont généralement habitués aux nouvelles consoles et préféreront juste télécharger les jeux. Si vous ne possédez pas de console, les solutions pour vous seront :

  • Émuler sur un ordinateur ou une autre carte
  • Acheter une borne d’arcade,
  • Acheter une édition mini de la console refaite pour pouvoir jouer à quelques jeux sur votre télévision.

3. Conclusion

Pour conclure, les bornes d’arcade sont de moins en moins présentes, à cause du succès  des consoles de salon. Néanmoins, elles ne sont pas pour autant totalement oubliées.

En effet, aujourd’hui, les bornes d’arcade ont également évolué dans le temps. Elles nous donnent ainsi la possibilité de pouvoir jouer à tous les jeux rétro sur une seule machine. Elles réconcilient vintage et moderne, et sont un bon moyen de nous faire revivre notre enfance ou époque passée. Les consoles next gen nous donnent également l’opportunité de pouvoir jouer aux jeux d’origine en les téléchargeant ou en les achetant. Les anciens jeux ne sont pas totalement oubliés. Les remakes et les reboots redonnent vie aux anciens jeux soit en conservant leur histoire, soit en la revisitant. En bref, chacun y trouvera son compte et pourra apprécier le charme des jeux rétro à sa façon.

Flex Arcade - Recalbox
Flex Arcade – Recalbox
Flex Arcade

Flex Arcade

A propos

Chez FLEX on aime les jeux vidéo, c’est cette passion qui a bercé notre enfance (et peut-être la vôtre !?) qui nous anime dans cette aventure, pour concevoir et fabriquer de superbes machines à rejouer aux meilleurs titres de la jeune histoire des jeux vidéo. Nous produisons une gamme “ready to play”​ mais réalisons aussi des commandes spéciales pour des bornes d’arcade uniques et de caractère en utilisant par exemple la base d’un tonneau de vin de 300L ou une caisse de munitions de l’armée française ! Nous sommes à votre écoute pour vos projets, partagez vos rêves les plus fous, on adore les réaliser.

Les derniers articles

Suivez-nous sur Facebook

Montez votre borne vous-même (tuto)

Publicité

0
Votre Panier est vide

Il semble que vous n'avez pas encore ajouté de produits dans votre Panier

Voir la Boutique
Alimenté Voltage Emoji par Caddie
fr_FR