The 10 Video Games where Death is Final

In the universe of video games, death is often just a constraint, a minor obstacle that can be overcome with extra lives or well-placed save points. However, some games like to make death more meaningful, by forcing you to start from the beginning every “Game Over”. Worse yet, some games go even further by only letting you die once. In these games, death is not a simple inconvenience, it is a unique and irreversible experience. Discover the 10 video games where you only have one chance to survive.

10. Zombie U

ZombieU is one of those games that appeared in the early 2010s, during the zombie apocalypse madness. However, unlike its competitors, the game takes a unique approach to heightening the terror of survival in the presence of the undead. Every death in Zombie U is permanent. Even though the game has a save system, when you die you do not return to the game as your previous character. You reappear in the world as another survivor, and your previous character turns into a zombie. With each death, your experience is unique. You must reacclimate to your surroundings and your new character, then venture out into the world to collect your belongings from the zombified body of your previous character. Sure, it can be frustrating to lose a character you've grown attached to, but it's precisely this emotion that Zombie U exploits to escalate the post-apocalyptic struggle.

9. You Only Live Once

At one time, Newgrounds was home to the most eccentric and creative Flash games on the Internet. One of these games was “You Only Live Once“, a platform game where, as the name suggests, you only have one chance to go through an obstacle course. Unlike Mario and other conventional platform games, “You Only Live Once” does not grant you extra lives. You have five hearts to survive a few hits, but when you lose them all, it's the end. You have no option to continue, no return to the menu and no starting again. You are simply dead. However, the game doesn't actually end. Instead, it advances time to show you what happens after you die. For example, if you die because of an enemy, you will see them call an ambulance for you and then be arrested for your murder. You will then see your modest grave in the same place where you perished. It's a level of realism that even Red Dead Redemption 2 didn't deliver.

8. Rogue Legacy

Rogue Legacy is not your ordinary rogue-like game. Normally the genre is about starting over, choosing your character, entering a dungeon, trying to survive as long as possible, and when you inevitably die, you start all over again. But in Rogue Legacy, the game never lets you choose the same character again. The whole gimmick of Rogue Legacy is that you don't play a single hero, but an entire lineage of them. So when your character dies, they don't come back, and you play one of their descendants instead. Each hero in your family tree only has one life. Getting attached to them usually ends in great disappointment and inevitable frustration. On the other hand, the random list of generated descendants keeps the game interesting for much longer. Plus, if you manage to reach the end, you'll be able to see how many descendants it took you to get there. Nothing is more powerful than knowing that you had to sacrifice decades of your bloodline to achieve this.

7. Project Zomboid

At the start of each game in Project Zomboid, the loading screen informs you that the story you are about to begin is the story of “how you died”. This may seem like an exaggeration, but in the reality of Project Zomboid's post-apocalyptic world, it is. Unlike other survival games, Project Zomboid doesn't have an easy mode that lets you reload your save file. Everything you do is recorded in real time, and if you die at any point during your journey through zombie-infested Kentucky, your character is lost forever. The only way to continue playing in your world is to create a new character who will inevitably die too. The death system in this game is truly unforgiving, as it doesn't take much to lose your character's precious life. Zombie bites, while guaranteed to kill you, are actually the least of your worries. It's more likely that your character will die from food poisoning or by stabbing themselves with a piece of broken glass. Anyone who has ever played Project Zomboid knows the pain of losing a veteran survivor with thousands of zombies under their belt to a fall down a flight of stairs.

6. Rimworld

Rimworld is an unpredictable and traumatic game, set in a distant future where humanity has colonized planets near and far. Rimworld puts you in charge of a colony of survivors and tasks you with ensuring they safely escape their deadly, isolated planet. The game offers several modes to customize your experience based on your individual needs, including a “commitment” mode that ensures your playthrough will be a unique challenge. Since the game has a multitude of randomly generated elements, from settlers to maps to events and even item descriptions, nothing is ever the same. Add to that the fact that your unique settlers attract death like a magnet, and the narrator can decide to rain a toxic cloud on their heads at any time, and “commitment” mode becomes a truly unique experience. One fatal mistake can erase your entire colony from the map and turn it into a distant memory, never to be recreated.

5. Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey

Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey is an open-world survival game in which you attempt to guide a tribe of primitive humans through their evolutionary journey. As expected from its prehistoric setting, the life of your tribe is not easy and requires overcoming many dangers and trials to reach the final stage of their evolution. This is reflected in one of the key features of the game: each member of your tribe has only one life to live. Each time you take control of a particular primate in your group, you have total responsibility for their existence. You must guide them safely to the point where they can pass on their DNA to the next generation of humans. If you fail along the way, they become a dead link in evolution. Ancestors features several unforgiving death animations for those who have been unable to properly care for their primates, including scenarios such as slowly bleeding to death and even being devoured by a gigantic centipede. And once you witness the tragic end of your previous protégé, you immediately get another one to take care of, or perhaps he will meet the same fate. Evolution truly is a cruel mistress.

4. Reigns

Reigns is a card-based strategy game where you play as a king learning the ropes of ruling a kingdom on Tinder. Each decision in the game appears as a card that you must swipe left or right. If this doesn't seem at all intense, it's because you haven't yet discovered the consequences of each decision. Reigns offers four stats for your kingdom that you must balance with each choice. If you fail to keep them all above zero or prevent any one from becoming predominant, your kingdom will experience a crisis, followed quickly by the gruesome end of your king. As the game has no save system, the death of your king is permanent, and the only way to continue playing is through your heir, provided you have one. Each king has a unique history and traits, you will never be able to play the same game again. After all, it's difficult to rule a kingdom after being burned at the stake and cut into small pieces.

3. Wild Frost

Wild Frost is a 2023 rogue-like deck-building game that tells the story of a village of adventurers trying to save their world from an eternal winter. Despite its cute art style, the game has become infamous for its high difficulty, partly due to the fact that the slightest mistake will cost you your adventurer's life forever. At the start of each game, you will be able to choose from three randomly generated heroes, each with a unique ability and appearance. This means two things: first, no matter how many times you play, you will never encounter the same character twice, and second, if your character dies at any point, you will never be able to play them again. Each hero only has one chance to save their frozen land, which can be especially brutal when you get an incredibly powerful character and they die because of a stupid, predictable mistake. Worst of all, Wild Frost keeps a record of every character that dies in a special book, so you can never forget all the poor souls you've doomed during your playthrough. True survivor's guilt, everyone's favorite activity.

2. DayZ

With the rise of titles such as Rust and more recently Valheim and the new Sons of the Forest, the online survival genre has become a huge part of the gaming industry. However, the gaming that was there from the beginning and who helped to popularize the genre, it is certainly DayZ. Although many reviewers criticize DayZ for its gameplay, which consists of hiding in bushes for hours only to die under gunfire from a random player, the game popularized the concept of constant survival. The main concept of DayZ is that death is not just a gimmick, and its servers dedicated to permanent survival remind players of this reality in a pretty devastating way. Every time you die on a permanent survival server, your character is deleted from the game, and you cannot respawn on that server. As you can imagine, this can be quite a difficult situation for someone who spent a whole week gathering supplies only to lose them all during a random encounter with an unfriendly stranger. At least you know they won't have fun for very long either.

1.OneShot

OneShot is a truly unique game where you play as yourself, guiding a little cat-kid named Nico on his quest to save the world. What makes this title special is that you actually have only one chance to play it. No matter which ending you get, the game won't let you continue or start again, unless you manipulate the data in your system folders a little. Even death counts as an ending. In the original version of OneShot, when the player left the game, it was equivalent to abandoning Nico and his world. You would return to the game to find that Nico was missing, and starting a new game would bring you to a dark, foreboding room instead. There was no way to go back except by directly manipulating game data. You could say that quitting a game is tantamount to giving up on its world is a bit extreme, but on the other hand, it's a incredibly memorable experience.

Click here to find all our articles on our blog

Flex Arcade

Flex Arcade

Flex Arcade

About

At FLEX we love video games, it is this passion that rocked our childhood (and perhaps yours!?) that drives us on this adventure, to design and manufacture superb machines to replay the best titles of the young history of video games. We produce a “ready to play” range but also make special orders for unique and characterful arcade terminals using for example the base of a 300L wine barrel or a French army ammunition box ! We are at your disposal for your projects, share your wildest dreams, we love to make them come true.

The latest articles

Follow us on Facebook

Mount your terminal yourself (tutorial)

Advertising

0
Votre Panier est vide

Il semble que vous n'avez pas encore ajouté de produits dans votre Panier

Voir la Boutique
Powered by Caddy
en_GB

Les 10 Jeux Vidéo où la Mort est Définitive

Dans l’univers des jeux vidéo, la mort n’est souvent qu’une simple contrainte, un obstacle mineur que l’on peut surmonter avec des vies supplémentaires ou des points de sauvegarde bien placés. Cependant, certains jeux aiment rendre la mort plus significative, en vous forçant à recommencer depuis le début à chaque “Game Over”. Pire encore, certains jeux vont encore plus loin en ne vous laissant mourir qu’une seule fois. Dans ces jeux, la mort n’est pas une simple gêne, c’est une expérience unique et irréversible. Découvrez les 10 jeux vidéo où vous n’avez qu’une seule chance de survivre.

10. Zombie U

ZombieU est l’un de ces jeux apparus au début des années 2010, pendant la folie de l’apocalypse zombie. Cependant, contrairement à ses concurrents, le jeu adopte une approche unique pour renforcer la terreur de la survie en présence des morts-vivants. Chaque mort dans Zombie U est permanente. Même si le jeu dispose d’un système de sauvegarde, lorsque vous mourez, vous ne reprenez pas le jeu en tant que votre personnage précédent. Vous réapparaissez dans le monde en tant qu’un autre survivant, et votre personnage précédent se transforme en zombie. À chaque mort, votre expérience est unique. Vous devez vous réacclimater à votre environnement et à votre nouveau personnage, puis vous aventurer dans le monde pour récupérer vos affaires sur le corps zombifié de votre personnage précédent. Certes, il peut être frustrant de perdre un personnage auquel vous vous êtes attaché, mais c’est précisément cette émotion que Zombie U exploite pour intensifier la lutte post-apocalyptique.

9. You Only Live Once

À une époque, Newgrounds était le site des jeux Flash les plus excentriques et créatifs sur Internet. L’un de ces jeux était “You Only Live Once“, un jeu de plateforme où, comme son nom l’indique, vous n’avez qu’une seule chance de traverser un parcours d’obstacles. Contrairement à Mario et aux autres jeux de plateforme conventionnels, “You Only Live Once” ne vous accorde pas de vies supplémentaires. Vous avez cinq cœurs pour survivre à quelques coups, mais lorsque vous les perdez tous, c’est la fin. Vous n’avez aucune option pour continuer, aucun retour au menu et aucun recommencement. Vous êtes simplement mort. Cependant, le jeu ne se termine pas réellement. Au lieu de cela, il fait avancer le temps pour vous montrer ce qui se passe après votre mort. Par exemple, si vous mourez à cause d’un ennemi, vous les verrez appeler une ambulance pour vous, puis être arrêté pour votre meurtre. Vous verrez ensuite votre modeste tombe à l’endroit même où vous avez péri. C’est un niveau de réalisme que même Red Dead Redemption 2 n’a pas offert.

8. Rogue Legacy

Rogue Legacy n’est pas votre jeu rogue-like ordinaire. Normalement, le genre consiste à recommencer, à choisir votre personnage, à entrer dans un donjon, à essayer de survivre aussi longtemps que possible, et lorsque vous mourez inévitablement, vous recommencez tout. Mais dans Rogue Legacy, le jeu ne vous permet jamais de choisir le même personnage à nouveau. L’ensemble du gimmick de Rogue Legacy, c’est que vous ne jouez pas un seul héros, mais toute une lignée d’entre eux. Ainsi, lorsque votre personnage meurt, il ne revient pas, et vous jouez plutôt l’un de leurs descendants. Chaque héros de votre arbre généalogique n’a qu’une seule vie. S’attacher à eux se termine généralement par une grande déception et une frustration inévitable. D’un autre côté, la liste aléatoire de descendants générés garde le jeu intéressant beaucoup plus longtemps. De plus, si vous parvenez à atteindre la fin, vous pourrez voir combien de descendants il vous a fallu pour y arriver. Rien n’est plus puissant que de savoir que vous avez dû sacrifier des décennies de votre lignée pour y parvenir.

7. Project Zomboid

À chaque début de partie dans Project Zomboid, l’écran de chargement vous informe que le récit que vous êtes sur le point d’entamer est l’histoire de “comment vous êtes mort”. Cela peut sembler exagéré, mais dans la réalité du monde post-apocalyptique de Project Zomboid, c’est bien le cas. Contrairement à d’autres jeux de survie, Project Zomboid n’a pas de mode facile qui vous permet de recharger votre fichier de sauvegarde. Tout ce que vous faites est enregistré en temps réel, et si vous venez à mourir à un moment donné de votre voyage à travers le Kentucky infesté de zombies, votre personnage est perdu à jamais. La seule façon de continuer à jouer dans votre monde est de créer un nouveau personnage qui mourra inévitablement aussi. Le système de mort dans ce jeu est vraiment impitoyable, car il ne faut pas grand-chose pour perdre la précieuse vie de votre personnage. Les morsures de zombies, bien que garanties de vous tuer, ne sont en réalité que le moindre de vos soucis. Il est plus probable que votre personnage meure d’une intoxication alimentaire ou en se poignardant avec un morceau de verre brisé. Toute personne ayant déjà joué à Project Zomboid connaît la douleur de perdre un survivant vétéran avec des milliers de zombies à son actif à cause d’une chute dans un escalier.

6. Rimworld

Rimworld est un jeu imprévisible et traumatique, situé dans un futur lointain où l’humanité a colonisé des planètes proches et lointaines. Rimworld vous met à la tête d’une colonie de survivants et vous charge de vous assurer qu’ils échappent en toute sécurité à leur planète mortelle et isolée. Le jeu propose plusieurs modes pour personnaliser votre expérience en fonction de vos besoins individuels, dont un mode “commitment” qui garantit que votre partie sera un défi unique. Étant donné que le jeu comporte une multitude d’éléments générés aléatoirement, des colons aux cartes en passant par les événements et même les descriptions d’objets, rien n’est jamais pareil. Ajoutez à cela le fait que vos colons uniques attirent la mort comme un aimant, et que le narrateur peut décider de faire pleuvoir un nuage toxique sur leurs têtes à tout moment, et le mode “commitment” devient une expérience vraiment unique. Une erreur fatale peut effacer votre colonie entière de la carte et la transformer en un souvenir lointain, jamais à recréer.

5. Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey

Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey est un jeu de survie en monde ouvert dans lequel vous tentez de guider une tribu d’humains primitifs tout au long de leur voyage évolutif. Comme on peut s’y attendre de son cadre préhistorique, la vie de votre tribu n’est pas facile et nécessite de surmonter de nombreux dangers et épreuves pour atteindre la dernière étape de leur évolution. Cela se reflète dans l’une des caractéristiques clés du jeu : chaque membre de votre tribu n’a qu’une seule vie à vivre. À chaque fois que vous prenez le contrôle d’un primate particulier de votre groupe, vous avez la responsabilité totale de leur existence. Vous devez les guider en toute sécurité jusqu’au moment où ils peuvent transmettre leur ADN à la prochaine génération d’humains. Si vous échouez en cours de route, ils deviennent un maillon mort de l’évolution. Ancestors propose plusieurs animations de mort impitoyables pour ceux qui n’ont pas pu veiller correctement sur leurs primates, y compris des scénarios tels que saigner lentement à mort et même se faire dévorer par un gigantesque mille-pattes. Et une fois que vous avez assisté à la fin tragique de votre précédent protégé, vous obtenez immédiatement un autre à prendre en charge, ou peut-être qu’il connaîtra le même destin. L’évolution est vraiment une maîtresse cruelle.

4. Reigns

Reigns est un jeu de stratégie basé sur des cartes où vous jouez en tant que roi apprenant les ficelles du métier de diriger un royaume sur Tinder. Chaque décision dans le jeu apparaît sous forme de carte que vous devez glisser vers la gauche ou la droite. Si cela ne semble pas du tout intense, c’est parce que vous n’avez pas encore découvert les conséquences de chaque décision. Reigns propose quatre statistiques pour votre royaume que vous devez équilibrer à chaque choix. Si vous ne parvenez pas à les maintenir toutes au-dessus de zéro ou à éviter que l’une d’entre elles ne devienne prédominante, votre royaume connaîtra une crise, suivie rapidement de la fin atroce de votre roi. Comme le jeu ne propose aucun système de sauvegarde, la mort de votre roi est permanente, et la seule façon de continuer à jouer est grâce à votre héritier, à condition que vous en ayez un. Chaque roi ayant un historique et des traits uniques, vous ne pourrez jamais rejouer la même partie. Après tout, il est difficile de diriger un royaume après avoir été brûlé sur le bûcher et découpé en petits morceaux.

3. Wild Frost

Wild Frost est un jeu de construction de deck rogue-like de 2023 qui raconte l’histoire d’un village d’aventuriers tentant de sauver leur monde d’un hiver éternel. Malgré son style artistique mignon, le jeu est devenu tristement célèbre pour sa grande difficulté, en partie à cause du fait que la moindre erreur vous coûtera la vie de votre aventurier pour toujours. À chaque début de partie, vous pourrez choisir parmi trois héros générés aléatoirement, chacun ayant une capacité et une apparence uniques. Cela signifie deux choses : premièrement, peu importe combien de fois vous jouez, vous ne rencontrerez jamais le même personnage deux fois, et deuxièmement, si votre personnage meurt à un moment donné, vous ne pourrez plus jamais le jouer. Chaque héros n’a qu’une seule chance de sauver leur terre gelée, ce qui peut être particulièrement brutal lorsque vous obtenez un personnage incroyablement puissant et qu’il meurt à cause d’une erreur stupide et prévisible. Le pire de tout, Wild Frost tient un registre de chaque personnage qui meurt dans un livre spécial, de sorte que vous ne pourrez jamais oublier tous les pauvres âmes que vous avez condamnées au cours de votre partie. Une véritable culpabilité du survivant, l’activité préférée de tout le monde.

2. DayZ

Avec l’essor de titres tels que Rust et plus récemment Valheim et le nouveau Sons of the Forest, le genre de survie en ligne est devenu une part importante de l’industrie du jeu. Cependant, le jeu qui était là depuis le début et qui a contribué à populariser le genre, c’est certainement DayZ. Bien que de nombreux critiques critiquent DayZ pour son gameplay, qui se résume à se cacher dans les buissons pendant des heures pour finalement mourir sous les tirs d’un joueur aléatoire, le jeu a popularisé le concept de survie permanente. Le concept principal de DayZ est que la mort n’est pas un simple gadget, et ses serveurs dédiés à la survie permanente rappellent cette réalité aux joueurs de manière assez dévastatrice. Chaque fois que vous mourez sur un serveur de survie permanente, votre personnage est supprimé du jeu, et vous ne pouvez plus réapparaître sur ce serveur. Comme vous pouvez l’imaginer, cela peut être une situation assez difficile pour quelqu’un qui a passé toute une semaine à rassembler des fournitures pour les perdre toutes lors d’une rencontre aléatoire avec un étranger peu sympathique. Au moins, vous savez qu’ils ne s’amuseront pas très longtemps non plus.

1. OneShot

OneShot est un jeu vraiment unique dans lequel vous jouez en tant que vous-même, guidant un petit enfant-chat nommé Nico dans sa quête pour sauver le monde. Ce qui rend ce titre spécial, c’est que vous avez effectivement une seule chance de le jouer. Peu importe quelle fin vous obtenez, le jeu ne vous permettra pas de continuer ou de recommencer, à moins que vous ne manipuliez un peu les données dans les dossiers de votre système. Même la mort compte comme une fin. Dans la version originale de OneShot, lorsque le joueur quittait le jeu, cela équivalait à abandonner Nico et son monde. Vous reveniez au jeu pour découvrir que Nico avait disparu, et recommencer une nouvelle partie vous amenait dans une pièce sombre et inquiétante à la place. Il n’y avait aucun moyen de revenir en arrière, sauf en manipulant directement les données du jeu. Vous pourriez dire que quitter un jeu équivaut à renoncer à son monde est un peu extrême, mais d’un autre côté, c’est une expérience incroyablement mémorable.

Cliquez ici pour retrouvez tous nos articles sur notre blog

Flex Arcade

Flex Arcade

Flex Arcade

A propos

Chez FLEX on aime les jeux vidéo, c’est cette passion qui a bercé notre enfance (et peut-être la vôtre !?) qui nous anime dans cette aventure, pour concevoir et fabriquer de superbes machines à rejouer aux meilleurs titres de la jeune histoire des jeux vidéo. Nous produisons une gamme “ready to play”​ mais réalisons aussi des commandes spéciales pour des bornes d’arcade uniques et de caractère en utilisant par exemple la base d’un tonneau de vin de 300L ou une caisse de munitions de l’armée française ! Nous sommes à votre écoute pour vos projets, partagez vos rêves les plus fous, on adore les réaliser.

Les derniers articles

Suivez-nous sur Facebook

Montez votre borne vous-même (tuto)

Publicité

0
Votre Panier est vide

Il semble que vous n'avez pas encore ajouté de produits dans votre Panier

Voir la Boutique
Alimenté par Caddie
fr_FR